faceless fashionista representing the everyday girl

Okay so she doesn’t know it yet, but Fancieland is my new BFF 🙂 Without sounding too stalkerish, I love this girls posts and I think she’s the more calmer version of myself. A few minutes ago she posted a beauty tag, and duhhh, I had to respond!

1. What is one product that makes your feel like a million dollars?

Pshhh, right off the back I’m conflicted. If we are talking about makeup, then it HAS to be my Maybelline Falsies mascara. In my mind I always think that people will be so distracted by my fabulous lashes, that they won’t notice my dark circles and giant zit 🙂

If it’s clothing, then it’s gotta be my heels! Mind you I couldn’t walk in heels if my life depended on it, but I love them and own waaaay to many pairs 🙂

2. What is your skin care secret?

For YEARS I have been using St.Ives Apricot Scrub. Products have come and gone, but this has been a staple item. I have ridiculously oily skin that is prone to blemishes. So when I wear makeup, it is very important that I remove my makeup every night. Then about three times a week I exfoliate to clean off the dead skin cells and clean out my pores.

3. Share your hair care secret.

Like my awesomely slick face, I have oily hair….yuck! However, because I have naturally oily hair, I also have long hair. The oil provides natural nutrients for my scalp to grow healthy hair. So given this, I always thought any extra oil was my enemy, buuttt, recently I discovered the power of Almond Oil. About once every two weeks, I give my scalp a nice massage with the oil, leave it in for a few hours and I’m set for the rest of the month with gorgeous, soft, healthy hair.

4. What is your biggest diet rule?

Arghhh… this is where my  friendship with Fancieland ends 🙂  While she’s naturally too skinny, I’m naturally overweight and have always been so. But I made a commitment this year to put my health first and have actually been successful at loosing some weight and gaining some muscles. What’s been my motivation is I actually took “Before” pictures of myself. So on the days I feel down and frustrated, I look at the pictures and in a weird sadistic way, the pictures motivate me to keep going.

As far as actual diet, snacking has made the biggest difference. I read an article a few months ago that  said something about how is your body going to burn anything if there is nothing to burn. That really stuck with me, SO instead of  2 or 3 big meals, I eat about 5 small meals, this way my body is constantly working to burn the calories, instead of storing.

5. Any workout tips?

Do what you like! I hate running, so I avoid the treadmill. However, I love weight training and cycling, so those are the things that I do regularly at the gym. I mean come on, if you hate someone, I doubt you would want to hang out with them, same thing applies when working out.

6. Which perfume is your secret weapon?

I’m not much of a perfume person. No, I don’t stink, I do use deodorant, but I’m a lotions kind of girl, especially Bath & Body lotions, yumm!

7. Show us a clothing item that always turns heads.

My 7 forallmankind Jeans. Love them! Finally found a brand that fits my curves the way they were meant to  be  shown off. SECRET TIP: NOOOO way will I pay more than $40 for a pair of jeans. That’s just me, I’m cheap like that. I get these high-end jeans at TJ Maxx, for $5-$25 a pair!!!

8. What is your most treasured piece of jewelry?

I love the bling!!!!!! My current obsession is hoop earrings with small hanging  diamond balls   (eww…get ur mind out of the gutter 🙂

9. Who is your style crush?

I’m a mentally promiscuous person. Now, before you get all judgmental let me explain. I have a very undefined sense of style. Some days I’m a jeans, t-shirt and converse kinda girl, others I am a hippie chic, and yet others I’m a glamazon. So I don’t really have a style crush but I do like a bunch of different celebrity styles, but this is also always changing.

However, I’m obsessed with Marc Jacobs!!! More so for the person versus the brand, because I mean come on who else can rock neon blue hair with a pink dress. Yup.

10. Tell us something we don’t know about you.

I loooooove Disney. If I wasn’t a graduate student, I swear I would be a pretty princess at Disneyland! Seriously! Now without sounding like a Match.com ad, here are some others things about me: I’m scared of birds, I love chocolate, I’m obsessed with all things beauty, I love shoes, my eyes change colors depending on my mood, I live in California (totally just sang the Katy Perry song in my head, and now you will too!), my sister is my best friend, I played soccer in high school, I love reality tv shows (shhhhhh!), I have like 10 celebrity crushes, my ethnicity is Indian and my dog Lucky is the LOVE OF MY LIFE! Big boy turns 10 this year 🙂

 

Ok………..too much information 🙂 Now its your turn, I would love to read about who you all are!!! SO go on, stop thinking “naaahh not me.” Just push new post and start typing 🙂

 

Comments on: "TAG! Ur it! Beauty Secrets Tag" (6)

  1. As long as you “keep your eye on the prize” losing weight should be no problem. I dont know you, but you seem pretty motivated, and motivation is the most important part. I ride a lot of bike to keep myself healthy since i dont like to exercise. 🙂

    This is a fun tag, I think im going to do this!!

    I followed your blog, I just started my own, check it out and follow if you like what you see!
    ChromaMeSilly.wordpress.com

    <3,
    Tiny T

  2. By the way, your dog is painfully cute!!!

Yo! So tell me what u thought, u know u want to :)

Tag Cloud

